Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy
Romantik und Moderne
Arnold Schönberg Center
Monday, 09 May 2022
7.30 pm
Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien © Christoph Holy

   Christina Neubauer violin
   Martin Kraushofer viola
   Eva Landkammer violoncello
   Elisabeth Aigner-Monarth piano

Ernst KRENEK Streichtrio op. 118
Arnold SCHÖNBERG Sechs kleine Klavierstücke op. 19
Anton WEBERN Satz für Streichtrio
Antonín DVOŘÁK Klavierquartett Es-Dur op. 87

Tickets € 14 | Free admission for persons under 26 years
Online reservation

The Orpheus-Ensemble-Wien is a regular guest at the Arnold Schönberg Center and delights the audience with versatile programs in changing instrumentation. With Antonín Dvořák, one of Schönberg’s early models is heard this time, whose influence can hardly be discerned in the expressionistic Six Little Piano Pieces, op. 19. Even shorter than Schönberg’s opus is Anton Webern’s movement for string trio, an expressive testimony on the way to the twelve-tone method. Ernst Krenek’s five-movement trio was composed about 25 years later, and explores the twelve-tone idiom based on classical formal thinking.

6.30 pm: Curatorial tour with Therese Muxeneder
through the exhibition "Gazing into the soul with Schönberg" (registration required).

The concert will be broadcast live on facebook and YouTube and will be available for seven days afterwards.