Olga Neuwirth © Harald Hoffmann, Jean-Bernard Matter © Julia Dragosits
Portrait concert Olga Neuwirth
Webern Ensemble Wien, Jean-Bernard Matter
Arnold Schönberg Center
Wednesday, 29 May 2024
6.30 pm
Olga Neuwirth © Harald Hoffmann, Jean-Bernard Matter © Julia Dragosits

5.45 pm Composer talk
Olga Neuwirt with Katharina Bleier

6.30 pm CONCERT

Webern Ensemble Wien
Jean-Bernard Matter conductor

Arnold SCHÖNBERG Phantasy for Violin with Piano Accompaniment op. 47
Olga NEUWIRTH incidendo/fluido; ...ad auras... in memoriam H.; Quasare / Pulsare II; Magic flu-idity; AKROATE HADAL

Free admission | Online reservation

Arnold Schönberg is a central focal point for subsequent generations of composers. For Olga Neuwirth, the following works by Schönberg are particularly important “for political and musical reasons:” “A Survivor from Warsaw,” op. 46, the Wind Quintet, op. 26, and the Second String Quartet, op. 10. For Olga Neuwirth, her art represents “the abstracted, codified love for the ’human sound’ that lies deep within us.” Her soundscapes are nourished by an affinity for unusual sound sources “with intensified artificiality and exaggeration in the production of sound” frequently involving a radical change of timbres.

Cooperation with mdw – University of Music and Performing Arts Vienna